C: Seasons may change, winter to spring / but I will love you until the end of time

After a day of rest (yesterday was SO busy I honestly have not had the time to sit in front of the screen to type anything worth a look), here I am again!

And with a musical.

When she was twelve or so, my sister -who is younger than me by three years- was absolutely obsessed with Moulin Rouge, to the point where even I knew all of the lyrics. Well, I sang along, I am not sure I knew the words exactly.

I knew enough words to understand that the meaning was probably similar to that I had found in “Que sera, sera” – someone may call it “defeatist attitude” or “fatalism”; and it presents the theme of time, which, as every regular reader or acquaintance of mine will know perfectly, is particularly important to me. And, obviously, it is THE song about true love -it was for me for a while, at least- so… screw Can’t stop loving you, Can’t get you off my mind, C’m on and love me, Candles, Call me, Calypso, Come home and all the other amazing love songs beginning with ‘C’.

To me, it is the song to promise someone all your time under any circumstances, and I would not exclude the possibility to use it for a wedding (not mine; I am going to live forever with five thousands cats on a Scottish island, there’s no chance of me getting married!).

And then there is the “until the end of time”, that simply fascinated me. Mankind cannot think about infinity and nothing because it has no way of experiencing it (and, Kantian as I am, I do believe that you need some form of experience to imagine anything; you can think of a flying donkey, alright, but that is because you know what a donkey is and what wings are for. It is impossible to think of something that does not have any connection at all with the reality you have experienced), so the idea of saying “until the end of time” to define the limits of love is interesting, and contradictory: love will have an end, meh. But it will be when all things that I know for sure exist will end. Isn’t is simply amazing? Apart from the fact that the refrain specifies that the “end of time” will not exactly be the end of the Universe, just “my dying day”. Oh well. I have purposely decided to ignore that.

Obviously, just admitting the end of an “undying love” poses the problem of ‘time’. The lovers decide to simply ignore the passage of time and time itself until time’s force will prove to be stronger than their love and will put an end to it. It makes me think of Greek legends on Titans and their attempt to overcome the Gods, even if they succumb in the end.

The verses itself, the description of that iconic, almost stereotypical kind of love that makes “the world seem such a perfect place”, makes me think of the Titans’ euphory in believing that they could have a chance -or, more in general, the rebels’ moment of excitement, hope and recklessness before the disillusion.

 

Come what may is a metaphor for Prometheus… I think this means I should end this post here.

BUT the Titans came before the Gods (Hesiodus): does that mean that love came before time? This is a big question on the origins of the universe here.

No, I am just taking the piss.

 

 

This entry was posted in Challenge, Music, Time and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to C: Seasons may change, winter to spring / but I will love you until the end of time

  1. Pingback: D: Lives on the line where dreams are found and lost / I’ll be there on time and I’ll pay the cost / For wanting things that can only be found… | helloitsmichi

Leave a Reply

