Quo usque tandem, Catilina, abutere patientia nostra? Quam diu etiam furor iste tuus nos eludet? […]

So, first post.

The title cites the very first sentences of Cicero’s “Oratio in Catilinam Prima in Senatu Habita” [=his first speech against Rome’s subversive politician Catilina, pronounced in 63BC in the Senate. The sentence is “How long, Catilina, will you abuse our patience? How long will your madness keep mocking us?” and it refers to the fact that every member of the Senate was already aware of his conjuration against them when he casually walked in that morning]  -I put it up there because it was the first thing that came to my mind.

To more serious stuff, now. I am starting a blog because I feel like I should give some of my friends a bit of rest from the continuous stream of thoughts I let go when I see/skype/write to them… and also because I just miss writing. I obviously have been writing things (…bad habit, I guess), but I think I need to know that I’ll have to update a blog in order to write decently. I mean, writing for myself implies I couldn’t care less about grammar/punctuation/style/choice of words… , which indeed is something I need to practice, so here I am.

I used to have a blog (on Blogger… let’s see how WordPress works, though) and I would just write about anything that came to my mind -sometimes I’d read something and think I should reflect more upon that particular thing; other times something would happen, or just out of the blue I would have some thoughts I wanted to develop into more complex reasoning. So basically I will write about anything. No continuity! This is probably going to apply to languages too: I am not that multilingual person, but recently I’ve been thinking in English more than in my mother tongue, which is Italian, so I might mostly write in the language I’m thinking in; still, I do not master it, so please just tell me if something I write is an horrifying linguistic nightmare. Also, if referring to a quote, I’ll try and leave it in the same language it was written in… I mean, if I can read and understand it.

Ok, I’m done with warnings, rules and presentations… I’ll update something meaningful when I come across it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quo usque tandem, Catilina, abutere patientia nostra? Quam diu etiam furor iste tuus nos eludet? […]

  1. Pingback: Concentration | helloitsmichi

Leave a Reply

